The Greatest Toronto Argonaut Running-Backs of All-Time

(© imago images) Sept. 11, 2010 – Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada – Toronto Argonauts

A large part of the amazing success of the Toronto Argonauts in the CFL has come through their elite running-backs that have lifted their offense to new heights. This is why we decided to make a list of the best four RBs to have ever played for the Argos, ranked by our experts.

#4 Michael Clemons

Michael ‘Pinball’ Clemons played for the Argonauts for 11 years between 1989-2000, winning the Grey Cup 3 times as a player. The 2X CFL All-Star (1990, 1997) was awarded the CFL’s Most Outstanding Player Award in 1993 after setting a single season record for all-purpose yards (3,300). Clemons also has the record for the CFL Most Combined Yards of All-Time for the Regular Season at 25,438.

#3 Bill Symons

Bill Symons played with Toronto from 1967-1973, holding second place for the most rushing touchdowns by an Argo at 33 and tied for most touchdowns in a single game at 4. Everything came together for Symons in 1968, where he was able to rush for 1,107 yards, becoming the first ever Boatman to top the 1,000 yard plateau.

He won the CFL’s Most Outstanding Player Award in 1968 and was named ot the All-Star team the same year.

#2 Gill Fenerty

Despite just having the quick three years with the Argos, Gill Fenerty left his mark in Toronto, scoring 32 touchdowns from 1987–1989. In his first year with Toronto, he rushed for 879 yards and caught 53 passes, winning the CFL’s Most Outstanding Rookie Award. He went on to top himself and rushed for 968 yards in 1988, setting a team record of 215 yards in a single game against the Calgary Stampeders. 1989 was Fenerty’s best season, setting another then team record with 1247 yards rushing and playing in his first CFL All-Star game. 

#1 Dick Shatto

The great Dick Shatto’s playing career with the Argos lasted twelve seasons, where his #22 jersey is one of only four that has been retired by the club. Despite his lofty individual numbers, Shatto only made the playoffs three times during his career: 1955, 1960, and 1961. In fact the Argos finished last in their conference eight times in his twelves seasons with the club.

Dick Shatto was a CFL All-Star twice in 1963/1964 and was inducted into the Ontario Sports Hall of Fame in 1997.

Would you like to read more CFL lists and rankings? Then check out The Best Argos Quarterbacks of All-Time and The 5 Greatest Toronto Argonauts of All-Time.

19+ | Please play responsibly | Commercial Content | Terms and Conditions apply