The 5 Greatest Toronto Argonauts of All-Time

(© imago images) Bildnummer: 06953893 Copyright imago Students Commentator Doug Flutie USA centre maintains to with the supporters American Football men USA

The Argos have a rich history dating back all the way to 1873, making it one of the oldest existing professional sports teams in North America. As you’d expect, the CFL team has seen more than its fair share or exceptional athletes over the years. But who ranks at the top, as the greatest Toronto Argonauts of all-time? Let’s find out.

5. Dick Shatto 

Dick Shatto played for the Argos for 12 years, from 1954-1965, becoming the all-time leading rusher (6,958 yards) for the franchise and holder of the record for most touchdowns (91). Shatto was honored as an ‘All-Time Argo’ in 1996 and inducted into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 1975.

Unfortunately, the Argos team wasn’t very successful during Shatto’s tenure, finishing last in their conference eight times.

4. Mike O’Shea

O’Shea won three Grey Cups with the Argos as a player in 1996, 1997, and 2004 and went on to collect his fourth with the team as Special Teams Coordinator in 2012. He sits second all-time in tackles in CFL  history and is the Argonauts all-time leader in defensive tackles.

He is a winner of the CFL’s Most Outstanding Canadian Award in 1999 after having a season of 84 tackles, 13 special teams tackles and three interceptions. He is also a five time East Division All-Star and has been  named an All-Time Argo at linebacker. 

3. Dan Ferrone

As a five-time CFL all-star offensive lineman Dan Ferrone could make this list with just his playing ability. Ferrone however was a natural-born leader, who was instrumental in leading the Argos to Grey Cup championships in 1983 and 1991. Ferone was inducted to the Canadian Football HOF in September 2013 and served the Argo organization as an offensive line coach in 2002, team Vice-President in 2003 and team President in 2004.

2. Terry Greer

Terry Greer is considered by many as one of the best wide receivers to play in the CFL. He held the CFL record for most catches in a season and still holds the record for most receiving yards in a season with 2003. Greer was the first player to gain 2,000 yards receiving in a professional football season.

Greer was inducted into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 2019 was named to the All-Time Argos depth chart at receiver in 2007.

1. Doug Flutie

Many believe Doug Flutie to be the greatest CFL quarterback of all-time. He was named the CFL’s Outstanding Player from 1991-94 and then again in 1996-97. Flutie also holds Grey Cup rings from 1996 and 1997, where he was named Grey Cup MVP in both championship wins.

Flutie went on to have a successful career in the NFL, earning Pro Bowl and NFL Comeback Player of the Year awards. He was enshrined in the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 2008 and the Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame in 2007, becoming the first non-Canadian inductee. 

If you’re an Argos fan looking to bet on the team in the upcoming CFL season, check out our picks for the best CFL betting sites in Ontario to get going.

19+ | Please play responsibly | Commercial Content | Terms and Conditions apply