Ranking the Last 7 Argos Grey Cup Winning Teams

(© imago images) Nov. 25, 2012 – Toronto Argonaut Jeff Johnson, 33, hoists the Grey Cup after the Argos beat the Calgary Stapeders in the 100th Grey Cup in Toronto Sunday, Nov. 25, 2012. (Toronto Star/Lucas Oleniuk)

The Argos have won the Grey Cup 7 times since 1991, the most amongst all CFL teams in this period. But where does each team rate next to each other? Find out in our rankings of the last 7 Argos Grey Cup winning teams, from worst to best.

#7 100th Grey Cup – 2012

As the most decorated franchise in CFL history, the Argos seemed almost destined to play in the milestone event of the 100th Grey Cup. The team had a lot of ups and downs throughout the regular season, ending with a 9-9 record. Ultimately, Toronto was able to lift the Grey Cup, winning 35–22 over the Calgary Stampeders.

#6 92nd Grey Cup – 2004

The 2004 Argos team finished second in the East with a 10-7-1 record, behind the Montreal Alouettes. The team ended up derailing the Alouettes season in the East Finals and then going on to beat the BC Lions, 27-19 to take home their 15th Grey Cup title.

#5 105th Grey Cup – 2017

Despite a rather mediocre regular season record of 9-9, the Argos came together in the CFL playoffs to put together one of the most unlikely runs in franchise history. The season ended with a Grey Cup win over the heavily favored Calgary Stampeders, 27–24.

#4 109th Grey Cup – 2022

The latest addition to Grey Cup winning teams, the 2022 Argos side went 11-7 in the regular season, finishing 1st in a lackluster East Division. The tem eventually went on to beat the mighty Winnipeg Blue Bombers who were shooting for their third Grey Cup in a row, 24-23.

#3 79th Grey Cup – 1991

The 91’ Argos team took first place in the East Division with a 13–5 record, qualifying for the playoffs for the sixth consecutive year. The team went on to defeat the Winnipeg Blue Bombers in the Eastern Final and then the Calgary Stampeders in a rematch of the 1971 Grey Cup by a score of 36-21.

#2 84th Grey Cup – 1996

1996 marked the arrival of the great Doug Flutie to Toronto. With huge anticipation, the all-time great was able to deliver, leading his team to a 15-3 regular season record and defeating the Edmonton Eskimos in the 84th Grey Cup

#1 85th Grey Cup – 1997

Flutie and the Argos were at it again the next year, adding a few more weapons to the team to bolster an already terrific roster. The team once again won the East and went 15-3 again during the regular season. The Grey Cup didn’t provide too much in terms of competition, as the Argos heavily defeated the Saskatchewan Roughriders, 47-23.

If you’d like to enjoy more CFL lists and rankings, checkout our list of the 5 Greatest Toronto Argonauts of All-Time.

CFL Latest News

19+ | Please play responsibly | Commercial Content | Terms and Conditions apply