11 MLS Players Featured in Canadian World Cup Team

11 MLS Players Featured in Canadian World Cup Team

The National Canadian Soccer Team was announced this Sunday for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar this year. The team consists of 26 players of which 11 play in the MLS, three of which come from Toronto FC and six from CF Montréal.:

Goalkeepers– James Pantemis (CF Montreal) and Dayne St. Clair (Minnesota United)

Defenders– Richie Laryea (Toronto FC), Alistair Johnston (CF Montreal), Joel Waterman (CF Montreal) and Kamal Miller (CF Montreal)

Midfielders– Mark-Anthony Kaye (Toronto FC), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC), Ismael Kone (CF Montreal), Samuel Piette (CF Montreal) 

Forwards– Lucas Cavallini (Vancouver Whitecaps)

Unfortunately, Toronto FC defender Doneil Henry, then with LAFC, had to pull out of the final roster with injury. 

The team is expected to centre around main star Bayern Munich full-back Alphonso Davies, who will be a large part of the Canadian’s hopes this year. Other stars of top global laegues include FC Porto midfielder Stephen Eustáquio and Lille forward Jonathan David.

It was never going to be easy, after Canada was drawn into two FIFA-ranked teams in their group in Belgium, and Croatia. The group also features African powerhouse Morocco who could cause quite a few upsets.

While there is no doubt Canada has the talent to pull off some wins in the World Cup, inexperience may play a key factor. Not many of the players have taken on the pressure of playing in large global tournaments, for many it will be their first World Cup.

Group Stage Schedule

Canada is scheduled to play Belgium first on November 23rd before taking on Croatia four days later on the 27th and Morocco on 1st of December. For full details for each match see below.

Canada vs. Belgium

Date: Wednesday, Nov. 23 (2 pm EST)

Venue: Al Rayyan Stadium in Al Rayyan, Qatar

TV: TSN Sports

Streaming: TSN GO

Canada vs. Croatia

Date: Sunday, Nov. 27 (11 am EST)

Venue: Khalifa International Stadium in Doha, Qatar

TV: TSN Sports

Streaming: TSN GO 

Canada vs. Morocco

Date: Thursday, Dec. 1 (10 am EST)

Venue: Al Thumama Stadium in Doha, Qatar

TV: TSN Sports

Streaming: TSN GO

Tournament Format

The World Cup will feature 32 teams who will start off by competing in the Group Stage. The 32 teams are divided into 8 groups of which the top 2 will reach the Knockout Stage. Each team will play the other three teams in the Group once.

The Knockout Stage will consist of 16-teams and will be a single-elimination tournament. The Finals will take place Dec. 18 where the World Cup Champions will be crowned.

MLS Latest News

19+ | Please play responsibly | Commercial Content | Terms and Conditions apply